Printed: 6/18/2022 9:53:59 PM

Modified: 6/18/2022 9:53:39 PM

ROYALTON — Black caps and robes might need saved the seniors of White River Valley Excessive Faculty a bit hotter on their surprisingly chilly June commencement morning.

The 38 graduates, dealing with family and friends beneath a white tent and grey skies on the South Royalton inexperienced, had been the primary class to spend their complete highschool profession at White River Valley following the 2018 merger of the South Royalton and Whitcomb excessive colleges.

Principal Reed McCracken lauded the scholars for his or her perseverance by means of the problems of the merger, which got here after persistent re-voting and really public debate, in addition to the pandemic.

By way of all of it, the highschool nonetheless placed on performances of The Significance of Being Earnest and Mamma Mia, cheered on senior Hannah Bryan as she turned the highest feminine bowler within the Twin States, and picked up seven state championships.

“And however for a last-second shot they’d have eight,” McCracken was fast so as to add, referring to the boys basketball crew’s heartbreaking loss to Blue Mountain within the VPA Division IV championship in March.

However now the graduates’ 4 years at White River Valley have come to a detailed, and William Wuttke warned the seniors of adjustments coming in his honorary tackle.

“You lifelong Vermonters have most likely been hanging out with the identical individuals for a few decade. Even should you keep within the space, your social circle goes to look completely different,” Wuttke stated. “This can be a nice alternative to discover your self.”

Nonetheless, Wuttke cautioned the graduates towards letting concern of failure preserve them from attempting new issues.

“Use the errors you’ve already made, and the errors you’re about to make, to change into the very best individual you may,” he suggested. “This isn’t the tip, it’s just the start. Exit and take a look at one thing new.”

Wuttke graduated in 2016 from South Royalton Excessive Faculty, the place he was a three-sport captain, participated in music and theater, and served as Scholar Council president. Now a software program engineer, he graduated from the College of Vermont with majors in pc science and knowledge science.

“It will probably really feel robust coming from a small college. There are areas like pc science the place we didn’t have protection,” stated Wuttke, including that in flip “the web turned a ravishing useful resource.”

“There are additionally numerous benefits to going to a small college,” he continued, citing public talking as a ability he acquired vital observe in coming from a smaller pupil physique.

Valedictorian Gretchen Eddy additionally urged the graduates to not let the concern of being judged preserve them from discovering their most genuine selves.

“Everybody right here can and may profit from being themselves,” stated Eddy, who argued that that is the trail towards forging probably the most sustainable relationships.

Wuttke closed out his tackle with a frightening however hopeful actuality verify, mentioning local weather change, growing earnings inequality, the persistent pandemic and a rotten housing market as simply among the challenges these graduates will face.

“We’re going to let these issues eat us, or we’re going to change into the era that solves a report variety of issues,” Wuttke stated. “Trying on the brilliant minds behind me, I wager the latter.”

Frances Mize is a Report for America corps member. She will be reached at

White River Valley Excessive Faculty Class of 2022:

Camiren Ray Audette; Braden Richard Martin; Emily Ann Bean; Holly JoAnn Mayer; Sofia Bell; Julia Elisabeth Sue Morse; Sydney Paige Britch; Taryn Nelson; Jasmine Ann Brown; Leah Ann Quillia; Hannah Marie Bryan; Nicholas Anthony Ramos; Dominic L. Craven; Lucas Lloyd Reed; Alaina M. Dodge; Jamesen M. Roussel; Isabelle Durkee; Bazel Lutris McCrory Russell; Felicity Raine Ebare; Meredith Jean Schumann; Gretchen Eddy; Cody Andrew Scott; Macin Gaudette; Joseph Charles Serviss Jr.; Mason C. Gauthier; Wynter Rose Simack; Hayden A. Howe; Arliss James Spaulding; Mason Hunt; Logan Stiebris; Riley Jones; Kaleb Issac Thornton; Elijah Gordon Kinsley; Austin Tracy; Matthew G. Lincoln; Weston Robert Trombly; Avyanna Litchfield; and Alexis Wertheim.

Supply hyperlink

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
Best Wordpress Adblock Detecting Plugin | CHP Adblock